A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Looking back at 2013

on December 31, 2013

What a difference a year makes!

December 2012

December 2012

This time last year,

  • I had just reached “Onederland” in my weight loss, which was a milestone I couldn’t believe I’d reached. Now I’m celebrating being at my goal weight, 38 pounds down from this time last year, and maintaining it for 6 months. Every day I am less and less fearful that I’ll regain it all.
  • I had just finished my very first 5K (Commitment Day). I remember feeling so unsure and almost embarrassed to describe myself as a runner at almost 200 pounds. I didn’t have the fancy gear or have any idea what I was doing, but I was lining up to start my New Year by running in single digit weather.
Finished my first 5K!

Finished my first 5K!

  • Now, I’ve got SIX 5Ks under my belt (Commitment Day, Color Me Radd, Castaway Cay, Midnight Run, NWA Turkey Trot and the Ugly Sweater Run), plus my first 10K and three virtual races (5K, 10K and half). I am more confident every day in my identity as a runner and didn’t even demur a few weeks ago when someone in my office described me to a visitor as the office’s resident fitness guru. I have no doubt now that I’ll continue to run and seek out new challenges (goals for 2014!) and I of course now have loads and loads of new gear. 🙂
  • My first inclination in times of stress was still to eat and eat and eat some more. Now, those moments are fewer and farther between. Honestly, my first thought now is just to go out to run.
  • I was planning on taking my son to see Disney World for the first time. I wasn’t even aware that there was such a thing as RunDisney or the Princess Half Marathon.
December 2010

December 2010

  • Now I’m planning on actually running through this very castle! In less than 8 weeks!
  • I’m also, little by little, gaining in confidence and peace about my role as a mother. I am blessed to get to help this little soul get through life and while I still struggle with self-doubt and impatience, every day gets easier.

imageI can’t wait to see what 2014 brings! I’m off to close out 2013 with a run at the gym and some snuggle time with my two favorite guys.

Everyone please celebrate safely tonight!

11 responses to “Looking back at 2013

  1. sarahdudek80 says:

    Congrats on all of your accomplishments.

  2. You have much to be proud of, Jessica! And from what I can tell, not just in the last year, either! (I cannot wait to get to Onederland!! And I appreciate hearing about your maintenance, because I worry about the maintenance part of this journey…a lot) Here’s to an equally magnificent 2014!

    • Maintenance feels a lot less guided than weight loss did. There’s tons out there about weight loss and lots of support groups in real life and on line. Maintenance, not so much! I’ll definitely let you know about good maintenance resources as I come across them.

  3. leannenalani says:

    Wow that’s a whole bunch of 5k’s in one year! Great year and I’m sure 2014 will be just as good. Happy new year!

    • I know! I was stunned to look back at it all. It is truly mind-blowing how much things have changed in a year. Happy new year to you too! I think it’s going to bring good things for all of us!

  4. What a great year! I can’t wait to see what 2014 has in store for you!

Leave a Reply

