A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Running goals for the New Year

on December 30, 2013

The only running goal I had last year was to finish four 5K’s, which I did (and then some!). Now that I feel more confident in myself as a running, I’ve set some more ambitious goals for my running for this year.

  • Cross the finish line of my first half-marathon: In February, I’ll cross the finish line of the Princess Half Marathon. I have no doubt that I’ll be able to complete the 13.1 miles in the time allowed but am still sort of stunned by that! I cannot even imagine what that’s going to feel like. I don’t think I’ll be setting a time goal for the race as a) it’s my first half marathon, so just finishing is a PR; b) it’s a RunDisney event, so with the pictures and crowds and course entertainment I know it won’t really run like a normal half-marathon would; and c) I really want to enjoy myself along the way, so I don’t want to push myself for time.
  • Take a step up in my running to figure out how to incorporate some speed work into my training: Right now, I just head out to run certain distances a certain number of times a week. I’d like to work on more purposeful runs and speed work seems like a good place to start. It’ll help me to both get faster and to learn to better regulate my pace during my runs.
  • After I get a better at speed work, I’d like to work towards a new 5K PR. I’ll have to look around for a good timed race locally – maybe in the late spring?
  • If I get through the half marathon safely and having fun, I’m going to look into running another half marathon – this time with a time goal. I’m thinking about the Des Moines half marathon in the fall – close to home and would let me mark another state off my running & racing list.
  • After doing all of these running events this year, I am so impressed with the amount of work the volunteers put in to make the day run smoothly. I’d like to volunteer for a race somewhere here in town this year.

What are your running goals for the year?

Less than 8 weeks to go!

Less than 8 weeks to go!

 

For further reading:

Jeff Galloway’s Running World article 4 Running Goals for 2014

18 responses to “Running goals for the New Year

  1. Lauren says:

    Those are great goals, and very specific too! I really enjoy doing speedwork. I do it once a week – either intervals or tempo runs.

    I cannot wait to read about your PHM experience 🙂 It really is a perfect race for a first half marathon!

    • I’m excited about it (and nervous all at the same time!). I’m looking at my training schedule to tweak it just a bit since I’ve had some changes come up in my work schedule and I think I want to go up to 11 miles as my longest run instead of 10 like the Hal Higdon plan originally has you do. I can’t believe it’s less than 8 weeks away!

  2. […] Running goals for the New Year (littlemoreeachday.wordpress.com) […]

  3. playfulpups says:

    I’m so excited for you(and a bit jealous!) that you are doing the Princess Half! What a fantastic first half marathon! (I say first, because I suspect there will be another in your future!)

    Btw- I am mentioning your blog on my ‘Monday mentions’ today!

  4. The PHM medal is so gorgeous! I can’t wait to see yours on your blog! Congrats on reaching your running goals for this year and for setting some awesome goals for 2014! Those are great goals and I particularly like your goal of volunteering for a race. I think I might add that to my goal list for 2014. I was super impressed with the volunteers at the Hot Chocolate Race. They really made the experience more enjoyable and I’d love to reciprocate! My running goals (so far) for 2014 are to finish my first half marathon in April. I would love to have a sub-30:00 5K but I’m not sure how reasonable it is to shave off almost 10 minutes in the upcoming year. Possible, I guess. 🙂

    • There’s almost 10 minutes between my slowest and my fastest 5K this year without any speed work, so you could definitely get 10 minutes off of your 5K time with your plan to work on speed work after the half. That is the nice thing about being a beginning runner – we really don’t have much of anywhere to go but up, right? 🙂

      • Thank you for sharing that! That is awesome that you shaved that much time off of your 5K and it gives me hope for myself! So true; there is only one way to go and that is up! 🙂

      • I’m a little intimidated at the idea of speed work to specifically try to shave time off of my 5K, but looking at all I did last year and how I could have never imagined those things a couple of years ago, I’m sure I can tackle that too. We just have to keep challenging ourselves and getting back up over and over again every time we fall down. Thankfully, as a clumsy person, I have lots of practice getting up after I’ve fallen down!

  5. Look at that pretty medal! It will be OURS!!!!!! WOOT! Your goals sound great and are pretty similar to mine!

  6. […] Running goals for the New Year Dec […]

  7. […] next week, I’ll do the same while I try to figure out when I’m going to tackle my next running goal. I think the next thing I’ll work on is incorporating some speed work into my workouts, in […]

  8. […] week I have been able to check a few things off of my goal list for the month/year, including starting some speed work and figuring out what my non-training plan running will look […]

  9. […] addition to celebrating by heading out for a run (of course!), I thought I would look back at my running goals for the year and my 50 state challenge to see how things are […]

  10. […] back at my posts from this time last year, that I never set any real goals for 2014 other than my running goals. I’ll be updating my running goals for 2015 in a post next week (still contemplating them […]

Leave a Reply

