A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Friday Favorites: Favorite Christmas Moments

on December 27, 2013

Instead of my usual Friday Favorites, I find myself thinking back on my favorite moments from Christmas. I want to savor these moments, to take more time in my life to appreciate it and there were so many great moments this Christmas.

I was the first person awake in my house. It was so  peaceful to sit on my couch and gaze at the tree, all lit up and surrounded by gifts. Of course, being a child inside, it wasn’t long at all before I was wishing everyone else would wake up so we could open our gifts!

imageAfter a while, I finally heard O wake up and went in to get him. My husband and I had discussed bringing O into bed like usual to eat breakfast before we went in to the tree. When we went in to get him, we wished him Merry Christmas and he did the same for us (love that little quiet breathy “Merry Chrissmas” of his). I asked if he thought Santa had come last night and he said No, which was funny. He’s only just starting to understand the whole Santa thing. I couldn’t resist the urge to show O the tree when we walked down the hall from his room to ours and I hope I never forget the wonder in his voice when he saw it and said “Yay” in the quietest, little awe-filled voice. He then immediately wanted to get down and go check out the little hippo on the top of the pile. When we went to see Santa, he asked for a hippo so we wanted to be sure that was out for him to see first thing.

He got lots of new books, which he loves, and Legos. His favorite gift by far is the wooden fruit set we got him. He’s been cutting fruit for 3 days now. It was hard to get him to stop playing with it long enough to open his other gifts on Christmas morning. My husband also got some Legos – a set that builds a model of one of the Star Trek ships (bad geek wife because I don’t remember which one). O saw that and asked oh so sweetly “You share with me daddy?”

photo 5

After a hard fought nap (who wants to go down to nap when there are new toys to play with after all), he woke up and just wanted to sit with me and snuggle in his bed for 5 minutes before we went back out to play. That warm little body wrapped up so close to mine is a feeling like none other in the world, full of love and trust. I know I need to cherish those moments because before I know it he’ll be too big for those snuggles.

photo 3

As much as I spend this space talking about making changes to my physical health, I know I need to spend just as much time and energy on my emotional health. I can get so caught up in the day to day struggles of parenting a two year old, working and keeping my house and family and marriage running that I forget to appreciate the beauty in my life. I also struggle to forgive myself for my failures as a wife and a parent. In the midst of these great moments on Christmas, I also got frustrated when I spent hours prepping and cooking for a nice Christmas lunch, only to have O not touch a bite of it. Sigh. Totally normal two year old activity I know and less than a tenth of my impatience actually leaks out of my head to my kid, but I beat myself up for it all afternoon. That after nap snuggle was a balm to my soul.

photo 2

We spent the afternoon playing with new toys and cleaning up (always cleaning up). That night before bed, my little guy wanted to have a big family hug with both of us and him. Those little warm arms and that little “love you” was absolutely the best Christmas gift. I hope your holiday was full of beautiful moments as well. Be sure to take the time to appreciate them. The hours are long but the years are so short.

3 responses to “Friday Favorites: Favorite Christmas Moments

  1. leannenalani says:

    Soooooo cute! Glad your holiday went well.

  2. Gosh, I feel like I could have written the same post nearly verbatim! I find myself constantly saying “slow down and savor life” but it is so easy to get caught up in the daily grind. I feel like I am always taking on too much, trying to create memories for the boys and I often wonder if I am too caught up in creating memories rather than enjoying the memories of our daily life and routines. I’ve felt like a failure as a wife, mom, you name it over the past few months and I just keep telling myself to take a deep breath and accept that I am doing the best I can and that is all that matters. I also wanted to let you know that my oldest still loves to snuggle at 6 1/2 years old, so O may just have a snuggly personality. 🙂 I accept that Nick probably will not snuggle with me when he’s 16, but I’m pleasantly surprised that he still wants to at his age. Also, O’s little sweet feet in the last picture are just adorable! Sweet boy!

  3. […] appreciate just how blessed my life is. This, I feel like I have let slide more than I should. On Christmas, I made myself consciously step back to look at my day and it was beautiful. While I have been […]

Leave a Reply

