A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

My year of running

on December 21, 2013

Miss Zippy (here) is doing a “Year of Running” review link up and as I’ve now completed my first full year of running, I was happy for the chance to reflect back on my year. I’m looking forward to reading the other posts in the link up!

yearofrunning-225x300

  • Best race experience? It’s mind boggling to think that I have so many things to choose from, but my best race experience this year was definitely my first 10K. I felt great every step of the way and it was such a huge feeling of accomplishment to cross that finish line, finishing my first “big” race. It gave me a big boost of confidence and  when I feel faith in myself flagging as I go through the half marathon training process, I remember the way I felt that day and remind myself that finishing the Princess Half Marathon will feel even better.
  • Best run? I’ve gotten to run in some beautiful places this year, but my favorite was definitely crossing the Golden Gate Bridge. The scenery was fantastic, I proved to myself that the 10K I’d finished the month before wasn’t a fluke – I really was a runner!, and I got to be a tourist in a way I would never considered before I started running. image
  • Best new piece of gear?  Pretty much all of my gear is new since I’m so new to running – wow is there a lot of fun stuff to buy! I’d have to say that my favorite piece of gear would be either my SparkleSkirt or my Garmin (which I’m still loving – very easy to use!).
  • 10K Finish Line 9.22.13Best piece of running advice you received? I can’t remember where I heard this, but taking shorter steps more often as opposed to trying to lengthen my stride has definitely helped me to increase my pace and decrease my aches & pains while running.
  • Most inspirational runner? Katie Foster, at RunsforCookies, was definitely a big inspiration for me as I started running at 250 pounds. I also remind myself of the story of the 60+ year old Indian woman who apparently won a marathon (barefoot!) this month when I want to whine about not going out for a scheduled run – anybody really can run! I also constantly get inspiration from the other women I’ve met online who are runners like me – everyday women trying to figure this out amidst all of our other responsibilities. Knowing I’m not alone in my struggles, good days and bad days helps tremendously. Thanks ladies!
  • If you could sum up your year in a couple of words, what would they be? Making huge strides in fitness, literally & figuratively.

Be sure to check out the other stories in the link up! How has your year been?

9 responses to “My year of running

  1. better2doubt says:

    Great blog:) I too just finished my first year of running so, YAY US!
    My first year was huge for many reasons. My favorite run was up and back in Sabino Canyon; just a beautiful run. I completed three half marathons this year and PRd the last two by about 10 mins each. My goal this year was a full marathon and I was able to do that one two weeks ago – I’m a marathoner: WEWT!
    Do you have any New Years resolutions fitness-related bouncing around in your head yet? Goals for 2014?

    • I’ll finish my first half marathon in 2014, so that’s a big goal. I’m still kicking around others. I’m very goal oriented so I’ll need a new goal to motivate me after the half in February. 🙂

      • droppingallpretense says:

        Just reading over replies when I felt I needed to share something with another ‘goal-oriented’ runner. My goals are broken up into three parts, 1. what I know I can do, 2. what I should be able to do and 3. “That’s completely crazy!”.
        So, now I ‘know’ I can do a marathon. But, I should be able to do a marathon up a mountain (Mt. Lemmon Marathon), but the WORLD SERIES of goals for me would be to qualify for Boston and actually run in Boston.
        Aim for the moon, chica! Who knows? You might just hit it!

      • What a great way to categorize goals! A mountain marathon sounds like the best kind of crazy!

  2. […] My year of running (littlemoreeachday.wordpress.com) […]

  3. Lauren says:

    Great post! Running across the Golden Gate Bridge must have been amazing! Doing a race that crosses it is definitely on my bucket list 🙂

  4. […] year, I did this reflection on my year of running thanks to the model laid out over on Miss Zippy (check her 2014 update out here) and found it […]

Leave a Reply

