A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Friday Favorites

on December 20, 2013

I apologize for yesterday’s whiny weather rant! I live in Nebraska – might as well own it. Plus, it’s a good excuse to go shopping for cold weather gear, right? My life is fantastic. I need to remember to be grateful every day.

Double rainbows & Cinderella's castle - could it get any better?

Double rainbows & Cinderella’s castle – could it get any better?

This is my last day of work for a week, which is very exciting. It has been a crazy busy December! I’m looking forward to an entire week off (including some days off mommy duty with O in daycare, so I can run errands & wrap gifts!). At least one item on my ever-growing to-do list for next week is a nice long bath, with the big stack of unread or partially read magazines I have currently cluttering up my nightstand to catch up on. As far as digital reading this week, these really spoke to me (in serious and not so serious ways):

One of the emails from SparkPeople this week contained a link to a motivation article that I found much more powerful than usual. At this point in my life, I’ve read so much “motivation” that it rarely gets a rise out of me, but this one, which goes through some of the things we’re afraid of after we lose weight, really spoke to me. The entry about the guy who worries that he’ll find out that maybe he’s just not that interesting and it isn’t just his weight that is keeping women away really resonated with me. I definitely understand that fear and had those thoughts while I was trying to put myself out there to date – definitely part of the reason I decided not to wait until I lost weight to start dating. I love that my husband fell in love with me at 280 pounds and I love that he thought I was beautiful and smart and funny then but I also know that I clung desperately to the “excuse” of my weight being the reason I was alone for so long, rather than facing the thought that maybe I was just not that interesting. I was more than a little afraid of figuring who I was when I no longer had my fat to hide behind. It definitely an on-going process, adjusting to a newer me.

This time of year, we can’t help but reflect on the past as we make goals for the shiny new January that is coming. That’s very human and can be a very good experience, but often people focus on the things that they didn’t accomplish and the goals they failed to meet. Last Saturday morning at Weight Watchers, a regular attendee and I talked about how she tends to beat herself for not losing much weight this year more often than she reminds herself of how much she has changed in the last year, in terms of her relationship with food and healthy diet choices. I am big believer in rewarding progress, even when the finish line is not as close as you want it to be and so this week’s post from Fit and Free Emily (the “I didn’t make it this year” blues) had me nodding along at so many points. Celebrate your accomplishments as much or more than  you lament your failures!

On a much lighter note, I absolutely loved the post from We Run Disney this week about Dream Running Clothes. Very fun and creative (and I for one would love to see some of the ideas translated into actual running clothes!).

I’m hoping you guys all saw the story about the 61 year old woman in India winning the marathon (BBC report here). She ran in her sari and ran barefoot after losing one of her slippers. That is such an amazing thing – human beings are capable of truly fantastic feats.

As a mom of a two year old darling boy who has been very very TWO this week, I absolutely loved this Christmas shopping list for mom from Honest Toddler. I can definitely sympathize with the part about choosing my son over coffee . . . eventually. If you’ve survived toddlerhood, definitely read it for a laugh today.

What are your favorite blogs? Any recommendations? I love finding new people online! Everyone’s experience is so different and I feel like I learn so much from them!

Have a great weekend!

2 responses to “Friday Favorites

  1. Lauren says:

    That story about the woman in India who won the marathon is crazy awesome!! It really is amazing what the human body can do physically, and mentally!

Leave a Reply

