A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Cold weather blues

on December 19, 2013

Next week, I’m supposed to run 8 miles as my long run (not to mention two 4.5 mile runs and a 3 mile run, as well as 50 minutes of cross-training). All of this would be tricky enough to juggle with the holidays, daycare being closed and family coming to visit. Thanks to living in Nebraska, I have this added complication:

Weather Christmas week

I was planning on doing my long run Monday morning after I dropped O off at daycare. I’m getting used to running in the cold, but over an hour outside running in single digit temperatures seems a little unsafe! I think I’ll just move that run off to Thursday, which definitely means O is going back to daycare that day (which is probably going to be a rough day for his teachers with all of those post-holiday kids!). I just have to hope that the weather is cooperative and really does warm up to the 20s, which seems much safer. I really don’t want to relegate another long run to the treadmill and at least it looks like we won’t have much precipitation, so the road will be clear even if it is cold.

I can’t do it on the weekend because my parents are coming up to visit and their trips up here don’t come often, so I don’t want to abandon them for an hour plus to go run. Grrrr. I know this is totally a first world problem and one I brought upon myself by signing up for a February half-marathon, which would require long runs in the frigid Omaha winter. Seriously though, the one single digit day of the week is the one I was planning my long run for – it’s like the universe is laughing at me. Coming at a time when it’s getting close enough to the half marathon that I’m starting to get nervous about training enough anyway, screwing with my mental plans for the training schedule is not nice!

Am I just being a wimp? Would you tackle an 8 mile run outdoors in single digit weather? I’m worried about my face and hands freezing!

10 responses to “Cold weather blues

  1. If you dress for it you should be fine. I have run in -4. You need a hat, gloves and a thermal layer but you will soon warm up. Just be aware that should you stop and walk for any reason you will get cold very quickly. Good luck. X

    • I forgot that I have a neck gaiter thing to partially cover my face too, which will help. I can try outside and if it gets too bad finish on the treadmill at the gym. I just hate Mother Nature screwing up my plans – although the idea of running in -4 seems much worse! You are tough! And very dedicated!

  2. sarahdudek80 says:

    Brr. It has been very cold here too. I can empathasize.

  3. ChristyS says:

    I have read that a thin layer of Vaseline on your face helps during the cold runs, along with the gaiter to warm your breath so your lungs don’t feel the total cold shock. I am facing cold weather runs in MO this coming week too – I am not looking forward to it, but I will use those tips and layer up my clothing, trying to avoid the dreadmill as long as possible. Good luck with your cold weather training!

  4. leannenalani says:

    I wouldn’t run 8 miles period, but you know I’m not a runner. ;p I still think you are NOT being a wimp at all regardless of my own lack of experience. The elements are a pain to deal with. I don’t even know what single digit weather feels like, so I’m gonna say skip the run or use a treadmill or something!

Leave a Reply

