A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

I really can do this

on December 12, 2013

This week, I have what feels like a serious step up in training mileage (really, just two miles more than I did the week of Thanksgiving). I think what makes it feel so big is the fact that I’ve never done a 7 mile run before and that’s my long run on the schedule this week. It will officially be the longest I’ve ever run and suddenly all of those doubts about whether I’m really a runner or really an athlete start crowding back in. This week feels like I’m really training for a half marathon (72 days away! I should be training for it right?) and it is intimidating me.

I see so many tweets, blog entries and Facebook posts about how the holidays are throwing people off of their plan for exercise or eating, but honestly it is my own brain that has threatened to derail me. Instead of running the 4.5 miles I had on schedule for Monday, I let myself get busy at work at didn’t leave in time to get it done. Really, I just didn’t make it a priority. Tuesday, I nearly did the same thing, using work and the weather as an excuse. I had to force myself to go to the gym to run (still too cold & slick to be outside) and not let myself do the mental time math to say that I’d waited too late again. Yes, I picked O up a little later than usual that day. No, that 15 minutes is not going to matter one bit in the overall life of my child.

Even the 4.5 miles seemed like a huge distance, despite the fact that I’ve run 6 miles several times now and my mid-week runs were 4 miles the week of Thanksgiving, just two weeks ago (short mileage last week because I was on call).

Walking into the gym, I got to see this:

image

These are much more extensive Christmas lights than last year and honestly felt like a little celebration welcoming me to the gym. I did my 4.5 miles without any trouble and know I could do more. I can run 4.5 miles again this week (today in fact) and will run 7 miles this weekend without much trouble. I can run, no matter what that voice in my head says.

Laura over at Project Lovely Laura posted a quote weeks ago that I wrote down because it resonated with me then and now, thinking about how much my brain tries to get in the way of my progress:

“You are far too smart to be the only thing standing in your way.”

(Jennifer J Freeman)

Absolutely. Absolutely. A thousand times over. Today, I will not get in my own way. Today I will run.

7 responses to “I really can do this

  1. Lauren says:

    You CAN do this, I promise! A couple years ago when I started running, I could barely go 1.5 miles, and even at that point, the most I’d ever done in my life was 3. Once I passed that 3 mile threshold, every week was a huge fear and a huge victory. Don’t let intimidation keep you from your victory :0)

  2. Whoohoo! You got this! I do too! We got this! 🙂

  3. Laura says:

    I am so behind on reading my favorite blogs and I just saw this! 🙂 So glad you liked that quote. When I came across it, I felt like it was screaming at me! I can be the biggest hurdle to my success, but I have to remind myself to change that and be the biggest champion for me. You got this and I know you will run your 7-miler this weekend and I can’t wait to read about it! You’ve trained for it, you are prepared, and most importantly, you can do it!

    And your gym is beautiful! Love the decorations and I bet it makes it so fun to workout with the beautiful lights!

  4. […] Tuesday: 4.5 miles on the treadmill due to the cold and the road conditions – hard to make myself get started I felt great after! […]

Leave a Reply

