A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Friday Favorites: Self-acceptance & nourishing yourself

on December 6, 2013

It has a been a super busy week at work, so I am way behind in blog reading! I’m looking forward to catching up on my reading next week. I hate that I’m too busy to enjoy the first week of this super short Christmas season! I have at least been able to take the time to enjoy the Christmas lights, even if it is just on the drive back from daycare and out running in the morning.

image

With the business of the week and the coming holidays, maybe it is fitting that two of the blogs that caught my attention most this week were about taking to self-reflect and to appreciate yourself and your life. Over at Mommy Run Fast, Laura wrote about the importance of nourishing ourselves during the holiday season. So many health and fitness writers (including myself in some ways) focus on restricting things during the holidays – restricting sweets, restricting foods, restricting drinks – rather than embracing all of the warm and lovely things the season has to offer. One of my goals for the month is to remember this and be open to the positives in the holiday season.

So many things in both Emmie’s blog post and the Ladies Home Journal article she was featured in this month had me nodding along in agreement. Her honesty about her struggles with binge and emotional eating is very brave and  powerful. Stories like these need to be told more widely because I know there are other women out there who feel alone with the same issues. Thanks so much Emmie!

On a lighter but very fun note, Heather recapped all of the runDisney races she’s experienced ,with the pros and cons of each. Coming up to my first runDisney race with the Princess Half Marathon in February, I already find myself planning for another one and her list makes me want to do all of them! Like she says in the post, there really aren’t a lot of cons to the runDisney races! If you’re a runDisney fan, definitely check it out!

Have a good weekend! Any big holiday plans? I am loving driving around looking at Christmas lights with my son. At every house with lights that we see, he tells me “I like those” and/or “I want that” – my husband is going to be busy hanging lights if O is in charge of the decorating! I’m hoping to get in some cookie baking time with O this weekend. He absolutely loves to help in the kitchen. It is so inspiring  to see the joy of the holidays in a child’s eyes!

image

 

7 responses to “Friday Favorites: Self-acceptance & nourishing yourself

  1. Laura @ Mommy Run Fast says:

    Thanks for sharing! I’m glad it resonated with you- it’s an ongoing lesson for me. 🙂

  2. Thanks so much! I’m glad it resonated with you!

  3. Lauren says:

    Since I lost my weight and learned the importance of balance, I have not been a proponent of restricting sweets or foods that I enjoy. It causes future binging and guilt and nothing good can come from that! It’s definitely all about proportions!

    I hope next weekend that hubby and I and our pups will go looking at Christmas lights! I always love doing that each year!

Leave a Reply

