A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Friday Favorites: Black Friday

on November 29, 2013

Not to suggest that any of this will include Black Friday information, but rather that you’ll be reading this while I’m either out shopping with my family or recovering from said shopping! Day after Thanksgiving shopping has always been as big a part of the Thanksgiving holiday celebration for my family as the turkey. After lunch on Thursday, we would all always sprawl across the living room with the various Black Friday to plan our attack. There was always one person who needed something that required an early morning line, but I think even if there hadn’t been someone who “needed” something like that, we’d find a reason to be in line anyway. It certainly makes for a day of good people watching most years (especially for me, as I’m usually done with most of my shopping by this point so I’m just along for the ride!). Last year was a little subdued because the mad rush for shopping had been the day before, with stores opening on Thursday. (I personally refuse to go on Thursday – nothing I need that badly and Thanksgiving deserves a day to itself). Regardless, all of the walking around to shop and look at Christmas lights will definitely count as my cross-training this week. Seems legit right?

Cracker Barrel is always  part of the Black Friday experience.

Cracker Barrel is always part of the Black Friday experience.

My favorites from around the web this week:

On Saturday, Katie over at RunsforCookies wrote about a question she got from a reader about still feeling fat (check it out here). It has definitely been true for me that it has taken my brain a lot longer to catch up to the fact that I’m not a fat girl anymore than it did my body. It has gotten better with time, but I will probably always see myself as a former fat girl in my mind. It definitely helped me to come across people like Katie and others on the Weight Watchers 100 pounds to lose message boards who’d been through this kind of weight loss and understood how disconcerting it could be to have that kind of disconnect between your brain and body. That’s one of the reasons I think it is important that we tell our stories, so that others out there know they aren’t alone and that others have felt and thought the same weird things they are feeling.

Speaking of changes in your body, I loved Desiree‘s picture post with the changes she’s experienced in the last year as a result of her exercise and diet changes (check it out here). A picture really is worth a thousand words! Way to go Desiree!

Project Unfluff had a great post this week about Food Adultery: when your significant other “cheats” by going to a restaurant you’ve been wanting to visit together. It made me laugh because it is definitely something I understand (and my husband is smart enough to hide from me if he does this!) but also because it really does illustrate the huge status we give food in our lives. Should we feel so attached to certain foods that they invoke such feelings of violation? Probably not, but the only way we can work on the problem is to talk about it more openly and if we can laugh at ourselves along the way, that only makes it easier.

In the spirit of yesterday’s gratitude post, check out the Another Mother Runner podcast this week where they discuss gratitude one unique way a mother runner has devised to help give back to the community. I really love the idea of a 5K with child care provided and getting to choose the charity for your contribution. This race also has a virtual option, which I’ll definitely look into!

I love this post from Christine at We Run Disney about lessons learned from her first marathon experience. I was proud and tingly for her all over again (weird that I’m proud of a complete stranger? Maybe but the world of runners blogging, right?) and found this information so valuable as I am looking at my first half marathon. I have a feeling I’ll be re-reading this over and over as I get closer to the Princess Half Marathon. Thanks Christine!

This is from a couple of weeks ago, but I somehow forgot to include it at the time time. Emily (over at FitandFreewithEmily) wrote a very thoughtful article about her experiences with Weight Watchers with a really balanced pro and con list of the experience. Weight Watchers has clearly worked for me (110 lbs down and holding!), but it isn’t going to work for everybody and like Emily’s post highlights, it can really vary based on your meeting leader. You also need to be aware of what you can realistically expect, in terms of rate of weight loss and support for some more complicated issues like binge eating and other disorders. Going into it, I knew I had more emotional/binge eating issues that WW was going to be able to address. It is group weight loss support – there’s no way they can provide that kind of individualized support unless  you luck into a great leader who can help you work on those outside of  your meeting. For me, it provided valuable structure and was maintainable. It allowed me to stick with what I still think is the most important rule of weight loss: Don’t do anything to lose the weight that you are not willing to do for the rest of your life. That means, for me, no prepackaged foods, no shakes or supplements and no pills. I needed to learn to eat real food in the real world. While I love my WW leader, I have visited other meetings at the same location who had leaders that were everything you could hate about WW, including pushing the WW version of the packaged snacks and products and sticking to the rosy pre-fab WW script without delving deeper into the actual issues that get people overweight in the first place. If you’re thinking about Weight Watchers, I’d encourage you to read the blog entry and read all of the comments – the comments really highlight what a variable experience WW can be (and of course, you can always ask me anything).

Lastly, as someone who gets frustrated trying to find the original reports in all of these articles talking about “new studies show . . .”, I loved this XKCD from this week entitled “New Study“. The science geek in me frequently links original source material, or at least provides the references, when I’m talking about specific studies because of just this issue!

Enjoy the rest of your holiday weekend and happy shopping if you’re out there! Be kind, be polite and remember that the holidays really are supposed to fun!

6 responses to “Friday Favorites: Black Friday

  1. Desiree' says:

    Aww thanks for the shout out! And you are so right! Don’t do anything to lose the weight that you are not willing to do for the rest of your life. It’s just as simple as that!

    Hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving!

  2. Lauren says:

    I loved Christine’s marathon lessons post too – definitely gets me excited for my marathon next March!

  3. Laura says:

    Great post! And I wholeheartedly agree with you about finding ways to lose weight that you can sustain the rest of your life. I’ll never forget watching an episode of The Biggest Loser many years ago and one of the contestants was explaining how he knew he could never eat funnel cake ever again. I remember thinking to myself that a statement like that would never work for me. I don’t even really like funnel cake, but I replaced that with ice cream or pizza and I know I could never say I’d never ever have ice cream again or a slice of pizza. Depriving myself of those treats is just a recipe for disaster for me, so instead I have to eat those foods as “treats” only and in moderation. Thank you also for the reminder about the reason for the season! While we were out on Friday, I was pleasantly surprised by the polite nature of most everyone I came in contact with. Sometimes that is not always the case this time of year! 🙂

Leave a Reply

