A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

No one should ever go hungry

on November 12, 2013

In the midst of thinking about what I’m eating or not eating to manage my weight and my health and fuel my running, I try very hard not to lose sight of the fact that I have the incredible luxury of worrying about these things. I get to worry about whether or not I’m eating too much fruit or not enough protein, not worry about whether or not my family will have food at all today. I am incredibly blessed but there are so many families that aren’t. Every day we should keep this in mind, to be grateful for our own blessings, and also to look for opportunities to help those who aren’t so lucky. At the holidays, we are frequently presented with food drives and other chances to help to make a difference for families who are struggling.

In Omaha, our food bank (Food Bank of the Heartland) accepts direct donations of cash to purchase food (and is rated very  highly by Charity Navigator so I know my money is going to good use). They also have several holiday themed events throughout the city, related to our holiday light displays and ice skating, etc, where you can donate canned goods for the price of admission.

A project I am participating in for the first time this year is the Third Annual Scary Mommy Thanksgiving Project. This non-profit project (100% of collect money goes directly to the families) arose out of a mommy blog a few years ago and has helped over a thousand families celebrate Thanksgiving in a way they wouldn’t otherwise. We sit down that day and worry about eating too much – this project puts faces and stories to the mothers who worry about giving their families too little. I was in tears just reading those stories and especially the story I received after I donated, where they sent me the submission with the information specifically about the family I’d helped. The website has quick and easy links to donate as much or as little as you want and also ways to ask for help if you need it.

My favorite Thanksgiving food drive project is actually through my son’s daycare. Every November, they have multiple layers of giving and learning for the kids. The younger kids (like my guy) can bring in food for a traditional food drive. The older children are encouraged to bring in change and do extra chores and things around the house to collect change for the coin drive (and they really get into it, which is so fun). Then, those children take that money to the local grocery store and use it to buy canned goods to donate to the food bank. It helps them to learn about math in a very practical way. They take the donations themselves to the food bank to see how it works and learn about the role of the food bank in the community. It is so important to help kids learn early how important it is to  help out whenever and wherever you can. I worry sometimes that my son is going to grow up with a kind of privilege that neither my husband or I experienced growing up and we want to teach him both the value of what our hard work provides for our family and how lucky we are. We want him to appreciate that not everyone has what we do and it is our responsibility to help others when we can. I love that his school is starting that so early with the kids.

The most important thing is not to forget about the need that exists in our communities when the holiday season is over. Food banks are inundated with donations and volunteers during November and December, but struggle the rest of the year. Hungry is absolutely a year round problem and inexusable in a society like ours. One of my goals for next year is to find a way to contribute throughout the year, not just this time of year when I am faced with the stories of those who are suffering. I sincerely hope you have a bountiful holiday and that you can find help in your community if you need it. No one should ever go hungry.

6 responses to “No one should ever go hungry

  1. Lauren says:

    So true it is a year-round problem! That is great that you are getting involved and making a difference!! :0)

  2. jaime says:

    i grew up somewhat poor, there were years when we got baskets that had food and turkey in it, there were years when we had nothing for the big meal (thanksgiving an xmas). most of the time dinner was spagetti from a box with ground hamburger in it and a red sauce, cause that was what we could afford (foodstamps only go so far for a family of 5). i didnt even know i liked chicken until i was living on my own. luckily for me, im able to pick and choose my food and no public assistance is needed (i honestly think that a majority of the people on the food stamps program really need it).

    • I agree – most people I’ve encountered are from families that just can’t quite make ends meet. The abusers of the system get far more attention than the countless families who really need the help unfortunately. I’m glad things are better for you now!

  3. […] official race would cover a few weeks later, which was fun and the registration fee went to support hunger relief […]

  4. […] Project again this year (talked about in more detail here on her site and my thoughts last year here). I am so fortunate and so blessed, but so many families are not. The thought of anyone out there […]

Leave a Reply

