A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Friday Favorites: I am really going to miss fall!

on November 8, 2013

Living in Nebraska, I know it is just a days before this gorgeous fall is over and I’m in the midst of winter running. Already, I’ve spent a couple of runs dodging icy patches and practicing my winter layering. I’m definitely appreciating the gorgeous colors I’m seeing like this while I can:

imageimage

I took an extra walk on Wednesday afternoon just because I had a little extra time between my grocery run and when I was supposed to pick up O to head to dinner (our weekly date with Free Pie at Village Inn!). I did something I haven’t done in a really long time – I walked while reading a book. I used to do this all the time and can remember being referred to frequently over my years in apartment living as that girl who reads while she walks this dog. Currently I’m reading this:

image

It’s kind of fun to read about decadent Thanksgiving food while you’re exercising. 🙂 I definitely recommend this book if you love Thanksgiving cooking as much as I do! It’s a fun read, even beyond the recipes, and the recipes are divine. I’m not hosting Thanksgiving this year, but I’ll be using some of these recipes for our Christmas dinner. Yum!

Some of the other things I’ve enjoyed reading this week:

  • Another Mother Runner’s 10 Things I Wish Weren’t True About Running : I particularly like #9 (No matter how awesome and accomplished you feel after a run, you still have to make—or figure out—dinner for your family) and #10 – it really is always worth it.
  • This isn’t a blog post, but coming into November and all of the Pumpkin-spiced hoopla, I found this article from Spark People with nutrition info of some pumpkin-themed offerings really interesting. They don’t include our favorite – the pumpkin cereal bars at Trader Joe’s. Yummy! This has inspired me to start adding pumpkin to my greek yogurt and oatmeal this week instead of my usual PB2!
  • For those considering running Wine & Dine next year (me!) or those actually running it, this had some good tips about running a nighttime race: Top 5 Tips for Preparing For a runDisney Nighttime Race.
  • I loved this post from Women’s Running on things Only Runners Understand – #1 is definitely true for me! I am working on investing more money in my work shoes – to keep my feet happier overall so I can run more!
  • On a personal, mama-to-a-boy level, I really enjoyed Liz’s post from A Practical Wedding (which is always about so much more than weddings) on Raising a Boy. I want to raise my son to be a good man and with all we see in the news about how badly things can go, that responsibility feels very huge some days.

*My list of blogs I loved this week is huge – this is a pared down version of my original list! There’s so much good stuff out there! This is just a smattering of what I’ve loved. I hope you enjoy them too! If you have something cool you’d like me to feature, let me know and I’ll absolutely do it! I love to share what everyone else is doing (and apparently love exclamation points today).

PS Sorry about yesterday’s weird post title for anyone who noticed that! I wrote that post the night we made this dish, but knew it wouldn’t go up until later in the week. You got to see my little behind the scenes blog management in action as I reminded myself it was already done and ready to go whenever. 🙂 Oops!

4 responses to “Friday Favorites: I am really going to miss fall!

  1. krissy m. murphy says:

    Thanks for the shout out about the runDisney night race prep tips!!

  2. Lauren says:

    Gorgeous! I wish Texas had beautiful Fall scenery like that… we don’t get that much here in Houston lol

    I love cooking with pumpkin – I made pumpkin bread the other night for dessert’s this week. So yummy!!

    I will be at Wine & Dine next year too :0)

Leave a Reply

