A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Tabasco braised chicken with greens & chickpeas

on November 7, 2013

Last week, we got a lovely bunch of kale in our CSA bag:

imageIt was the perfect impetus to try a recipe from FoodieCrush I’d pinned this month, Tabasco braised chicken with chickpeas and kale. As my husband said, it included two things guaranteed to peak his interest: Tabasco and braising, and it seemed perfect for a fall evening. It definitely didn’t disappoint and was really easy to pull together on a weeknight! It only took 10 minutes of hands on time and then 30 minutes of simmering where I didn’t have to do anything with it. The original blog entry suggest serving it over rice, but we considered it a complete meal in itself and didn’t have anything with it. Braising is definitely something you don’t have to reserve for weekends where you have lots of long slow hours for cooking, especially if you’re working with something relatively quick cooking like chicken. Braising is also something I find really handy for dealing with chicken breasts, because they aren’t as likely to dry out since you’re cooking them in liquid the whole time. You could use either chicken breasts (like we did) or chicken thighs (called for in the original recipe) and whatever hearty winter greens you have on hand. I’ll bet chard would work great! We’ve done other variations of kale with beans before – it’s a great combo. I’d never thought of using chickpeas, but they hold up really well to braising without falling apart and texture was really lovely. As leftovers, this lost a lot of its Tabasco oomph, so I’d suggest serving the leftovers with a bottle of your favorite hot sauce to reclaim that zip. I’d definitely recommend trying this one for a quick, healthy fall dinner!

Original recipe (with my changes/notes in italics)

Ingredients

1 ½ pounds skinless chicken thighs *I used 4 boneless skinless chicken breasts
kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
2 tablespoons canola oil *I just sprayed with cooking spray
1 white onion, diced
2 15 ounce cans diced tomatoes, including juice *I used fire-roasted – love the flavor in combo with kale.
2 15 ounce cans garbanzo beans *I drained and rinsed these.
2 cups kale *I didn’t measure this at all – just put the entire bunch in. As long as you have enough liquid, use as much kale as you’d like.
1 tablespoon Tabasco *We used Tabasco, but I’m sure you could use whatever your favorite hot sauce is at the moment.
½ cup water *I used chicken broth instead to amp up the flavor a bit and didn’t measure – just added enough until I could get everything barely submerged.

Instructions

Season the chicken thighs with salt and black pepper. Heat 1 tablespoon of oil over medium high heat in a large dutch oven or 8 quart stockpot. Cook one half of the chicken for 5-7 minutes per side or until nicely browned. Remove from pan and set aside. Add the remaining oil to the pan and cook the other half of the chicken, remove from pan and add to the reserved chicken.

image

Browning before adding back to simmer is key in amplifying the flavor of your protein when you’re braising something. It is definitely worth the extra 10 minutes or so!

Reduce the heat to medium and add the onion to the pot. Cook for 4-5 minutes or until onion becomes tender. Add tomatoes with juice, garbanzo beans with juice *I omitted juice, kale, Tabasco and water *chicken stock and stir making sure to scrape the bits off the bottom of the pot. Nestle the chicken thighs with their juices in the tomato mixture, bring to a boil and reduce to simmer, and cook for 25-30 minutes or until flavors have melded. Serve over rice, quinoa or egg noodles.

Aren't those colors gorgeous?

Aren’t those colors gorgeous?

2 responses to “Tabasco braised chicken with greens & chickpeas

  1. Pretty! I don’t eat chicken, but I make up for it with the love-affair I have with KALE! Ahhh, I can seriously eat a whole bunch in minutes, if you let me dehydrate it into chips, I eat it even faster. yummy!

Leave a Reply

