A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Favorite Recipes: Skinnytaste’s Chicken Taco Chili

on October 28, 2013

I was working this weekend, so before I headed out I quickly put together one of my favorite slow cooker recipes. This recipe is quick, easy and very tasty. Even better, you wouldn’t realize it was healthy! This recipe is from one of my favorite sites for healthy/Weight Watchers-friendly recipes, www.skinnytaste.com. I can’t think of any recipe I’ve tried from Gina’s site that my family hasn’t enjoyed, including my non-WW husband. Unless I make adjustments to the recipe, I usually trust her calculation of the points as they’ve always been correct on the recipes where I did double check the calculations.

Here’s the original recipe and link to her awesome site, with my adaptations noted in italics.

Skinny Taste Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Chili

Servings: 10 • Size: 1 1/4 cups • Old Points: 3 pts • Points+: 5 pts
Calories: 203.7 • Fat: 1.4 g • Carb: 33.3 g • Fiber: 10.0 g Protein: 16.9 g

Ingredients:

  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 16-oz can black beans – I drain & rinse these to decrease the saltiness.
  • 1 16-oz can kidney beans – I drain & rinse these to decrease the saltiness.
  • 1 8-oz can tomato sauce
  • 10 oz package frozen corn kernels – I usually use either the Trader Joe’s roasted corn or our own grilled roasted corn, but have used plain corn or even canned corn (drained).
  • 2 14.5-oz cans diced tomatoes w/chilies – You can control the spiciness of this dish a lot here. Most grocery stores offer mild, medium or hot versions of Rotel-type diced tomatoes with chilies, so play around with this to suit your taste.
  • 1 packet taco seasoning I omit the taco seasoning because it can be very salty and the cumin because my husband doesn’t like it
  • 1 tbsp cumin – Omitted, see above
  • 1 tbsp chili powder – Since I omit the taco seasoning and cumin, I bump the chili powder up to 4 tbsp.
  • 24 oz (3-4) boneless skinless chicken breasts
  • chili peppers, chopped (optional)
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro

image

Directions:
Combine all ingredients in a slow cooker. I always put the chicken on the bottom and everything else on top, but it probably doesn’t matter. I also give the slow cooker a quick spray with Pam/cooking spray first. Cook on low for 10 hours or on high for 6 hours. In my slow cooker, I usually do 8 hours on low with no problems so your time may vary depending on your cooker. Half hour before serving, remove chicken and shred. Return chicken to slow cooker and stir in. I find that the chicken breasts fall apart very easily when I stir things around in my slow cooker without having to pull it out of the cooker to shred it. Top with fresh cilantro.

image

We’ve eaten this chili on its own, on nachos and this week, as a topping for roasted butternut squash:

image(Topped with Greek yogurt and some Trader Joe’s queso)

This would also work well in a taco salad or as a burrito/enchilada filling. My favorite thing about it is that it literally pulls together in 5 minutes with ingredients I usually have in my pantry/freezer anyway. I absolutely love coming home at the end of the day to smell a dinner that is already cooked for me.

What are you favorite sites for healthy recipes? I’d love so new things to check out!

One response to “Favorite Recipes: Skinnytaste’s Chicken Taco Chili

  1. […] More surprising, just because it would have never crossed my mind, was how high my review of the Skinnytaste Chicken Taco Chili recipe was on the list! I still absolutely love that recipe and look forward to making it again […]

Leave a Reply

