A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Running through the city streets

on October 4, 2013

Thursday morning, I woke up early due to the time change so I decided to head out for my run at 5, earlier than I’d planned. It was dark and things were just starting to stir in the city. It was a new experience for me, running on the city sidewalks among the tall buildings. For safety, I was running with just one earbud in so I could hear what was going on around me. I could hear the street cleaners, the garbage trucks, the early morning workers chatting and the birds starting to circle at the bay. Without the street traffic around to obscure the scents with car fumes, I could smell the different coffee shops (which all smell a little different, turns out) and tea shops. I saw other early morning runners and street cops with their early morning coffee. The stars and city lights were still twinkling. It was a really fun experience, just to run at a different time and place than normal.

image

image

imageI forgot my FitBit and didn’t turn my GPS on until I was at least a mile in, so I’m not sure exactly how far I went but I know it was at least 3 miles. I also tried out my compression leggings for the first time and was so busy absorbing the sights, smells and sounds around me that I didn’t feel self conscious at all at how exposed I was!

image

A couple of safety things to keep in mind when running alone in a new city:

– Avoid visible jewelry/other valuables.

– Pay attention to your surroundings, including the people you pass and where you are. I made sure to make eye contact with the cops I passed and said Good Morning.

– Look at your route before you head out. It’s always a good idea to know where you’re going in general and looking out for street signs to match up with your map will help keep you aware of where you are. Also, nothing screams vulnerable tourist quite like standing on a street corner in the dark with a map, so avoid it if you can.

– Be sure someone knows where you are (hotel staff, text a friend/co-worker, RoadID app).

– Wear your RoadID bracelet or carry ID.

– Watch your footing! Coming up and down from curbs can be jarring.

I did notice while I was out that there is a Starbucks every couple of blocks in this part of town, greatly appreciated as I deal with the time change and screwy sleep hours!

image

I have a really exciting long run planned for tomorrow! Can’t wait to tell you about it!

5 responses to “Running through the city streets

  1. Desiree' says:

    Sounds like a really awesome run! Great job!!!

  2. Renee says:

    Awesome sites on your run 🙂 I nominated you for the Liebster Blog Award- you can view the details on my blog post! http://fearlessfoodandfitness.wordpress.com/2013/10/04/the-liebster-blog-award-questions-answers/

Leave a Reply

