A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

I’m an Athlete?

on September 20, 2013

I’ve seen lots of inspirational posts and pictures lately that say over and over, “If you run, you’re a runner.” I’m wrapping my brain around the idea that it doesn’t matter how far or how fast I run – I run, therefore I’m a runner. I’m getting there, I really am. Then I got this:

Athlete Guide 9.14.13

I’m an athlete now? That one is going to take more time to process. I’ve never really thought of myself as an athlete, even when I was younger. I was a dancer and ultimately the captain of my high school dance team, which was certainly a lot of physical work, but no one ever really considered us athletes in any sense. Since then, I’ve been a couch potato for the most part but capable of physical activities like hiking with a little effort. Certainly, I could walk around all day shopping or at theme parks (both highly motivating for me!) but I was never athletic.

014_14

Am I an athlete now? According to Google, an athlete is: a person who is proficient in sports and other forms of physical exercise. Does the mere fact that I’m going to complete a 10K distance automatically mean I am proficient in physical exercise? As one of my goals is to merely safely complete the run, I don’t know that I would consider myself proficient! Adequate, maybe. Maybe when I finish this I’ll feel like a real athlete?

The idea that “athletes” are doing the Omaha Marathon weekend events is honestly a little intimidating since I don’t really think of myself as one of them. I’ve just gotten to the point where I wasn’t concerned I’d be the last person across the finish line at the 5K I did a few weeks ago (a real fear I had when I did my first 5K!). At that run, I felt confident in myself and what I wanted out of myself for the event. Now, I’m back to being concerned that I’ll be the last person to cross the finish line and be passed over and over for 6 miles. Sigh. That might happen. But you know what, I’ll be crossing that finish line. Wish me luck!

12 responses to “I’m an Athlete?

  1. Joey says:

    No matter how fast or slow, or how far you go, you’re a runner

  2. I was concerned about my first 10K and being last as well, but it was fine! I felt so amazing, I have no idea where I came in, I was just so proud to have finished and in the time that I wanted to! Runner I got down now, I can accept it…athlete does seem a little harder to grasp. Someday! LOL

  3. I’m glad I’m not the only one who struggles with the athlete-runner thing. I’m nervous and excited about Sunday, but it will be such a nice feeling of accomplishment to get a 10K under my belt!

  4. I think you are an athlete indeed!
    I love the term “recreational athlete”, just to warn people that I’m not fast…

  5. […] up to this run, but did get a little freaked out in the last week before the race at the idea that I was an athlete. I dealt with excited nerves all week! I reminded myself to hydrate well during the days before the […]

  6. Sandra says:

    I’m 13 an I go to an athletic club, I did a 2mile cross country today, but I’m a sprinter. I came second to last, in a race filled with 15year olds who train for this. I didn’t lose. I’m slow at this. You don’t have to be fast to be good, you have to be dedicated!

  7. […] struggled a lot with the idea of being an athlete, but the longer I run, the more respect I have for myself and the task I’ve set for myself in […]

  8. […] ever run and suddenly all of those doubts about whether I’m really a runner or really an athlete start crowding back in. This week feels like I’m really training for a half marathon (72 days […]

Leave a Reply

