A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: 100+miles!

on September 8, 2013

This week I got to 100+ miles in my training log! That is so cool to see.

For my runs this week:

Tuesday AM: 5 miles in 57 minutes, outside (See Mental Tips)

Friday PM: 3.1 miles, 31:46 per the timing chip (See Omaha Midnight Run) New PR by almost two minutes!!

image

Sunday AM: 2 miles in 24 minutes, outside in my neighborhood. It felt like an easy, no pressure run which was nice. With nothing but a regular watch to track time, I didn’t worry about pace or distance – just used what I know to be a two mile loop in the neighborhood. It was a relaxing way to start the day and I’m glad I went out. I had to force myself to do it because it was on the training plan this week, but I really just wanted to lounge in bed this morning.

Cross training:

Monday: 60 minutes walking in my neighborhood – wow do I walk faster now that I run regularly! Before running, my walking-outside workout pace was a 20 minute mile. Without pushing it on my walks this week, I was at 17 minute miles. That is really a relief thinking about the Disney PHM 16 minute mile pace. I feel like I’ve got breathing room now, even if I walk a lot of it for some reason.

Wednesday: 40 minutes walking – It was such a gorgeous day, I ended up walking from my office to the local library branch to return a book ( around 1.5 miles) even though I’d planned on it being a rest day. That took about 30 minutes and was glorious. My shoes (now in the Goodwill pile) were definitely not meant for walking up and down hills even for a short time, so I ended up walking in the grass barefoot. It was such a luxury in the middle of the workday! Since this got me so close to my 40 minutes for the day, I decided to go out for a walk about the block after O went to bed and I really enjoyed it. I think I’m going to try doing that more often. It didn’t take long, but was really centering and got me over 10,000 steps for the day!

Barefoot walk during the work day 9.4.13

As far as my other goals for the week, I’ve stuck with no fruit after dinner for the second week in a row and it really does seem to be helping on the scale. I weighed in on Thursday morning this week instead of my usual Saturday morning since I’d be up doing the 5K in the middle of the night Friday and wasn’t sure how that would affect my weigh in. This was my first weigh in of the month and with Lifetime at Weight Watchers, I have to weigh in the first meeting I attend each calendar month. That’s the only required weigh in for the month, although I’ll probably stick with weekly weigh ins. I need to be less than 166 to come to meetings free for the month and keep the free e-tools. I was at 164.6 this week, which is down over the last couple of weeks so I think watching my fruit really is helping.

I’ve been much better about strength training this week – I did push ups and planks 3 different days. I’ve also been really good about stretching after workouts and even in the middle of the 5 mile run. I’ve spent a lot of time this week stretching my plantar fascia as well since I have trouble with plantar fasciitis running outside and that has really helped.

I spent two hours at Ann Taylor yesterday at one of their personal styling appointments. I tried on a ton of things and ended up with two suits, two pairs of heels (comfy and gorgeous and I am totally a flats girl, so that’s saying a lot!), slacks and a sweater. I learned I can now wear turtlenecks – which looked horrible on me 100+ pounds ago. Also I now wear the slim cut in their pants, not the curvy I thought I’d need. The salesperson very nicely pointed out that I have narrow hips now, which is why I was having such a hard time finding pants that fit right. Definitely still working on mentally accepting this new body shape! I’m glad I took the time to really figure it out with objective eyes to evaluate things. Plus, they gave me really nice chocolates. 🙂

I’m now only two weeks out from my first 10K! I’m excited and nervous. This week will be last big run before the race – 5.5 miles. I’m planning on tackling that one Saturday, outside in the park I ran in this week. I’ll also have a 2 and 3 mile run on deck, as well as some cross training.

My favorite motivational quote this week: “Accepting oneself does not preclude an attempt to become better.” – Flannery O’Connor

Loving yourself sometimes mean taking steps to improve yourself. I hope you all have a good week and take care of yourselves!

Leave a Reply

