A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Back to Basics: Spaces – My defense against binges

on September 6, 2013

For Brooke’s Back to Basics challenge this week, she looked at the importance of spaces in weight loss (http://brookenotonadiet.com/2013/09/02/weight-watchers-back-basics-improving-spaces/). I absolutely agree that making changes to the spaces you spend the most time in is crucial in making and sustaining lifestyle changes. Early on in my weight loss journey, I stashed healthy snacks in all of the spaces I spend time, including my house, my office and my car.

The car is essential for me because the drive to and from work was definitely a major binging and sneak-eating situation for me in the past. I’m not sure if it was because there was no one to see what I was doing alone in the car or because I get irrationally frustrated with traffic, but I would frequently (at least once a week, usually more) find myself swinging through the drive through of a fast food joint and ordering a ton of food to inhale on the way home. The thought process was always the same:

“I’d like a Diet Coke. I’m thirsty.”

“While I’m here, I might as well get some fries. I love their fries.”

“Really, if I’m paying for fries and a large drink, I should just get a value meal because it’s almost the same cost.”

On the really bad days when I just had to EAT ALL THE THINGS, when I found myself getting two value meals or 10 different things at Taco Bell, I would order two drinks so it would look to the drive through person (really, why on earth did I care what they thought?!?!) like I was taking food home for me and someone else. In reality, I would eat it all and throw away the wrappers before I got back into my house so my husband wouldn’t know it happened.

Like any binge, I would end up disgusted with myself, even more so because eating that much on the drive home would never keep me from eating an entire dinner when I got home. Sigh.

I wish I could say I never have those thoughts any more, but when I pass the places I used to stop, it still crosses my mind. Those habits haven’t disappeared entirely, although I am grateful I haven’t given in to them in a really long time. I don’t know that those thoughts are ever going to go away, so I have to stay vigilant.

My defense against this is to never get in my car to drive alone without a drink and a healthy snack. I fill my water bottle before I leave work or grab a diet soda at the vending machine. I take a big travel cup of coffee in the morning. I save an apple from my daily feed bag for the ride home and usually have extra fruit in the morning if I need it. I also keep an emergency Fiber One bar (2 points) in the console and in my purse so I am never without ammunition if I absolutely have to have something.

photo(58)

I keep tennis shoes in the back of the car so I can stop for a walk if I need to get some activity in for the day and always have a fully stocked gym bag in the back seat. Any day I stop at the gym, I bring my bag in that night and reload it with clean clothes, socks, deodorant, etc and put it right back in the car so I never have that excuse not to work out. I really find activity to be my most effective distraction from an impending binge, but that may be just me.

Most of us spend lots of time in our cars, with errands for kids and commuting to work, so don’t forget it as you’re working on your spaces! Being prepared is a huge part of this battle!

3 responses to “Back to Basics: Spaces – My defense against binges

  1. […] to drink on the way home. I can’t say it was easy to resist the urge to get fries and “what the heck, might as well get the value meal for the same price” like I have so many times in the past. I resisted, but headache-y and stressed about the two […]

  2. […] with both night time (as discussed previously here and here) and afternoon transition-time eating (here).  Just yesterday, I had to go down to a reception at work at 2 pm, complete with cake and punch. […]

  3. […] gotten a lot, personally, from some of the posts I’ve written about binge eating, my struggles with setting a goal weight and frustrations with Weight Watchers. Writing my thoughts […]

Leave a Reply

