A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Seriously, just do it!

on August 20, 2013

Yesterday was a typical Monday: last minute things kept coming up meant I left work later than usual, making the temptation to skip my workout seriously strong. I argued with myself he whole drive home and ultimately put on my shoes while at a red light to try to force myself into the gym. Who would want to go into daycare for pick up in sneakers and my cute little sweater dress/cardigan combo?

I forced myself out at the gym, telling myself it was only two miles and it would be on the treadmill, which is a little easier. As I started, my knees were twinging, definitely not normal for me. After a couple of minutes, that settled down and I got into the book I was reading on the kindle. I inched the incline up to 0.5%, then edged the speed up until I was at 5.8 mph by the end. I know for lots of people, that’s a snail’s pace but for me it is flying! I finished the two miles in less than 23 minutes, definitely a rockin’ run for me!

My body can do amazing things when my brain gets out of the way! Some days I seriously just need to do it.

2 responses to “Seriously, just do it!

  1. leannenalani says:

    That’s great! I heard somewhere that our bodies can sometimes send us pain messages that are “false”. Did your pain go away eventually during the workout?

    • It went away a few minutes in, once I got over the mental hurdle. I haven’t had any pain since then so I think it really was being influenced a lot by my mindset. Who knows – maybe my posture and stance were off because I was resisting the run a bit? I’m glad it hasn’t resurfaced!

Leave a Reply

