A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Running to stay sane

on August 18, 2013

Today, I was driving down the freeway trying to navigate traffic and simultaneously keep the toddler in the backseat awake (moms will understand how much a tiny car nap can screw up naps for the rest of the day!). Since adding mom to my multi-hyphenate list (wife-mom-worker bee-Jessica) I rarely have the luxury of thinking about just one thing at a time. Multi-tasking has taken on new extremes in the last two years. I think that may be why I and so many others come to running in our 30s, when we so desperately need the mental clarity that running brings. When I run, my mind becomes free in a way I don’t get any other way. Thoughts enter and leave, solutions to problems present themselves but nothing seems to weigh on me like it does in my normal life. It’s just me, the pounding of my feet and a lightness that this mama badly needs. I now understand what it means when someone says they “need” a run. I find myself looking longingly at tree lined roads I pass and wondering what it would be like to run them, especially on “those” days. Since i started running, I definitely feel calmer and better able to deal with life’s stresses because I know relief is only as far away as my running shoes. I guess that means I really am a runner now and for that, my scattered brain is grateful.

I hope everyone got the relief they needed this weekend!

PS Hauling a thirty plus pound toddler up and down the hills of the zoo for two hours counts as cross training right?

20130818-184214.jpg

Leave a Reply

